One Health Initiative Website Advisory Board (Hon.)

Established: December 1, 2010

Larry R. Anderson, DVM, MD - Sumner County Family Care Center, PA, Wellington, Kansas (USA)

Steven W. Atwood, VMD, MRCVS, MD, MPH – Animal Health Care Associates, West Tisbury, MA (USA)

B. Sonny Bal, MD, JD, MBA - Associate Professor, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, University of Missouri School of Medicine (USA)

Donald S. Burke, MD - Dean, Graduate School of Public Health, University of Pittsburgh (USA)

Carina Blackmore, DVM, PhD – State Public Health Veterinarian, Florida Department of Health (USA)

Craig N. Carter, DVM, PhD – Director, University of Kentucky, Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory (USA)

Nancy Chaney, RN, MS – Environmental Science– Past President, Association of Idaho Cities and Board member, National League of Cities, former mayor, City of Moscow Idaho (USA)

Helena J. Chapman, MD, MPH, PhD – Currently, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) fellowship, National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) Earth Science Division, Washington, DC (USA)

James L. Cook, DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVS - William & Kathryn Allen Distinguished Professor in Orthopaedic Surgery, Director, Comparative Orthopaedic Laboratory, University of Missouri (USA)

Virginia M. Dato, MD, MPH - Past President and webmaster American Association of Public Health Physicians (USA)

Peter C. Doherty, BVSc, MVSc, PhD – Nobel Laureate Professor Department of Microbiology and Immunology University of Melbourne, Australia, faculty member University of Tennessee Health Science Center through the College of Medicine and conducts research at St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, Memphis, Tennessee (USA)

Bernadette Dunham, DVM, PhD - Former Director, Center for Veterinary Medicine, U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Rockville, MD. Currently, Professorial Lecturer, The Milken Institute School of Public Health, George Washington University, Washington, DC (USA)

Mary Echols, DVM, MPH – Former Editor, One Health Newsletter and current Public Health Veterinarian, Palm Beach County (FL) Health Department (USA)

David N. Fisman, MD, MPH – Dalla Lana School of Public Health, University of Toronto and Department of Medicine, North York General Hospital (Canada).

James G. Fox, DVM, MS, DACLAM, FIDSA - Professor and Director of the Division of Comparative Medicine and Professor in the Department of Biological Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (USA)

Kathleen F. Gensheimer, MD, MPH - Former State Epidemiologist, Maine Center for Disease Control, Department of Health and Human Services, Augusta, ME (USA)

Greg Gray, MD, MPH, FIDSA - Professor, Duke University School of Medicine, Duke Infectious Diseases & Duke Global Health Institute, Durham, North Carolina (USA) and Program in Emerging Infectious Diseases Duke-NUS Graduate Medical School Singapore. Formerly, Director, One Health Center of Excellence for Research & Training, Professor Department of Environmental and Global Health, College of Public Health and Health Professions, and Infectious Diseases and Pathology, College of Veterinary Medicine, University of Florida (USA).

Eleanor M. Green, DVM, DACVIM, DABVP- Carl B. King Dean of Veterinary Medicine, College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX (USA)

John C. Hagan III, MD, FACS, FAAO - Editor, Missouri Medicine: The Journal of the Missouri Medical Association and an ophthalmologist, Kansas City, MO (USA)

*D.A. Henderson, MD, MPH - Professor, Department of Medicine, School of Medicine; Resident Scholar at the Center for Biosecurity of the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center; former Dean of Johns Hopkins School of Public Health from 1977 to 1990; Directed WHO global smallpox eradication program 1966-1977 (USA)

Joan C. Hendricks, VMD, PhD – Former Gilbert S. Kahn Dean, School of Veterinary Medicine, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA (USA)

David L. Heymann, MD – Editor, Control of Communicable Diseases Manual and Director, U.K. Health Protection Agency (United Kingdom)

James M. Hughes, MD - Professor of Medicine and Public Health, Emory University (USA)

Martyn H. Jeggo, BVetMed, PhD – Director, Geelong Centre for Emerging Infectious Diseases, Deakin University Medical School, Melbourne, Australia.

Lawrence C. Madoff, MD - Editor, ProMED-mail, Professor of Medicine at the University of Massachusetts Medical School and an infectious disease public health physician (USA).

Indu Mani, DVM, DSc - Editor, Clinician’s Brief, the North American Veterinary Conference’s (NAVC) official small animal veterinary medical journal (USA)

Lonnie J. King, DVM, MP, MPA - Former director of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control's (CDC) new National Center for Zoonotic, Vector-Borne and Enteric Diseases (NCZVED) and past dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine, Professor of Preventive Medicine and current Interim Vice President for Agriculture and Dean for the College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences at Ohio State University (USA)

Roger K. Mahr, DVM – Past President, American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) and former Chief Executive Officer of the One Health Commission (USA)

Garth Manning, MB BCh BAO, DRCOG, DAvMed, MRCGP, FRCGP - Chief Executive Officer (CEO) World Organization of Family Doctors [physicians] (WONCA), (Thailand)

Frederick A. Murphy, DVM, PhD - Professor, University of Texas Medical Branch, Department of Pathology, Galveston, TX 77555-0609 (USA)

Björn Olsen, MD - Professor, Senior Physician Infectious Diseases Uppsala University and University Hospital (Sweden)

Michael T. Osterholm, PhD, MPH – Director, Center for Infectious Disease Research & Policy (CIDRAP) Academic Health Center—University of Minnesota (USA)

Peter M. Rabinowitz, MD, MPH – Associate Professor, Department of Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences, Department of Global Health, Department of Family Medicine, Division of Allergy and Infectious Disease (adjunct) University of Washington, School of Public Health, School of Medicine, Director, Center for One Health Research (USA)

Ralph C. Richardson, DVM, Diplomate ACVIM (Oncology, Internal Med) - CEO and Dean, K-State Olathe. Former Dean, College of Veterinary Medicine, Kansas State University (USA)

Kevin M. Sherin, MD, MPH, FACPM, FAAFP - Health Officer and Director of the Florida Department of Health in Orange County, Orlando, Florida (USA)

Gary Simpson, PhD, MD, MSc, MPH – College Master-Paul L. Foster School of Medicine - Texas Tech University Health Science Center, Professor of Infectious Diseases in Medical Education (USA)

*James H. Steele, DVM, MPH – Professor Emeritus, University of Texas School of Public Health (USA)

Cecil B. Wilson, MD, MACP – Practicing internist from Winter Park, Florida (USA), past president of the American Medical Association and past president of the World Medical Association.


One Health Initiative
Home | About One Health | Mission Statement | One Health News | AVMA Task Force Report | One Health Newsletter |
Publications | Supporters | Supporter Endorsements | Upcoming Events | Contact Us